Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 100 reviews
Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: University of Iowa
Major: Political Science
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good prep software

4 stars
August 31, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Very cheap, effective if you're self-motivated.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable resource

5 stars
August 31, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
So I'll start this off by saying that I did not study "correctly" from the beginning. I floundered through Manhattan Prep for a few months due before finally refocusing and signing up with Magoosh, and I'm so glad that I did. The video lessons were incredibly clear and the problem set explanations were invaluable in really driving home the tricks that the GMAT likes to play.

I was consistently scoring in the mid 600s in my Manhattan CATs. I set up daily timed quizzes for both quant and verbal using the custom problem sets to help with timing. I believe that was the ticket for me. These practice quizzes, which Magoosh facilitated with such ease, were critical for me to stay fresh on quant topics while I was going through the verbal lessons. I took my final two practice exams using the GMATPrep software in the two weeks leading up to my exam and scored a 710 and 740. By test day, all my timing work and the multitude of problems from Magoosh helped me feel relaxed and prepared and I got my target score. Thanks Magoosh!

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing: simple to use, quality content, unbeatable price.

5 stars
August 30, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Teacher: NA
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 690
Magoosh is amazing. I took 2x courses and studied for a year with Manhattan GMAT before switching to Magoosh. MGMAT just wasn't doing it for me. They make you slog through enormous textbooks and the website is confusing by comparison. MGMAT has a lot of resources, don't get me wrong, especially the great practice tests, but you have to work at it. A course with them is also not on your schedule. MGMAT is also ridiculously, prohibitively, expensive.

Magoosh, on the other hand, makes everything easy. I can sit down at any computer and start practicing or studying in SECONDS. No more lugging around heavy textbooks or logging my progress in the OG. Magoosh has enough practice problems that I'm confident you don't even need the OG. Furthermore, since all of the problems are online, it is a great way to get used to testing on a computer. Magoosh is very reasonably priced; in fact, it's downright cheap. I think other companies are just scamming you. Don't be fooled into paying thousands!

Finally, the video lessons and problem explanations are top notch. If you get a problem wrong, there is no more trying to sort through a tough explanation--just watch the video! Personally, I just had more success watching videos to learn content than self-study from a textbook. Everything is organized and simple. I can't recommend Magoosh enough.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
College: Northern Arizona University
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me a lot in improving my score

5 stars
August 26, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 730
I liked Magoosh because it was online and allowed me to work at my own pace. Watching all the videos was what I assume helped me the most, and being able to set them to watching at 1.5x speed made it very efficient. The Quant videos probably helped me improve my score the most, and the AWA and IR sections were unparalleled to any other prep material I used. (but who cares about those sections anyways)

My scores on their practice questions were a little off, my estimated score was around 620, but I got a 730 on the actual exam; however, I would much rather a conservative estimate than the other way around.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone on a utility basis. I can't speak for the $800+ costing prep courses, (you could take the GMAT almost four times for that price!) but Magoosh was exactly what I needed and didn't break the bank.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Education
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very targeted, helpful, and accessible approach to GMAT prep

5 stars
August 25, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Math + IR 8 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I really enjoyed Magoosh's style of GMAT prep. You can work your way through the lessons, set up short quizzes, or go problem by problem. The best parts are the explanation videos after every question and related lesson videos you can watch if you're really lost on a particular topic. The videos have practice questions in them to help you process the material, and Mike McGarry explains concepts in ways that pop into your head while you're working problems (happened several times while taking the GMAT!).

Mike really makes the lessons great, and the entire structure of the website is incredibly useful.

Joined: May 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: University of California, Santa Barbara
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hone your timing!

5 stars
August 25, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 660
You can learn the same math and verbal concepts from most gmat courses and books. Magoosh really helped me to gauge my timing on questions and understand which areas I took too much time on. This is especially important on the Quant section when you really need to be able to make quick and educated guesses.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: University of Texas at Dallas
Major: Accounting
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Godsend

5 stars
August 23, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Simply put, I owe Magoosh a lot. I can't imagine getting the score I did without it. Granted I had to put in a ton of time in, studying for hours each day, but following a Magoosh study plan schedule is well advised.

Not only is there a large pools of test questions to prepare you, but they are adaptive, meaning the difficulty of the problems you receive are dependent on your skill level. Taking adaptive questions allows you to assess where you are and improve according, and answering them, I found my learning retention to be significantly higher than without.

Additionally, the answers and explanation videos are top notch. They are concise and clear and show you the logical steps necessary for problem solving. Personally I recommend watching the videos for the problems you answered correctly anyway. Even if that seems redundant, I noticed that my understanding of the problem types and the time it takes to solve those types have noticeably improved.

All in all Magoosh is a great resource, but it is only as effective as the commitment you give it.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: York University
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great Value

5 stars
August 19, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 210
Magoosh offers a great self study program at a fraction of the cost of other GMAT prep courses. That being said, I can't seem to find any compromises in it at all. Each practice question has a video explanation and the the instructors are very clear and easy to understand. I have already increased my score by 100 points in less then a month by following the basic three month study plan. I also liked how the lessons start at a very basic level as I have not taken any math or english classes in over 5 years. Overall, I highly recommend this program to anyone wishing to improve their scores.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal value

5 stars
August 14, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
For the money, Magoosh probably delivers the best value in test preparation. The video collection on quantitative/verbal review and test questions is quite extensive, and the instructors in the videos were clear and articulate. There was also a large question bank, and every question had an explanatory video. If I didn't understand a particular video, I left a comment in the feedback box under every video and someone from Magoosh would contact me with additional explanations.

The one thing I wish it provided was a more personal analysis of the types of questions you're getting right and wrong, so that you can focus more on those types (the GMAC software that comes when you register the test provides this). But it's easy enough to categorize the questions by type when you're practicing, so it's not a critical point.

There's also notecard apps available for verbal and quantitative review (in addition to the main Magoosh app) which I found useful.

For the value, I don't think you can really go wrong with Magoosh. Fantastic customer service tops it off. Can't

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT for international students

4 stars
August 14, 2015
Company: Magoosh 100 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 660
First of all, for international students studying GMAT verbal via book may be a bit challenging, since it is very easy to miss the important/subtle points without a teacher who explains.
I do believe most of the Magoosh verbal questions are quite good, and well explained.

However do not rely on only video explanations and read well-written newspapers and books .